Tour des Abbés Fontvieille
Bureau d'Information Touristique Fontvieille

Tour des abbés

Historic site and monument

Built at the request of the abbot of Montmajour, between 1348 and 1353, it is both a defensive and residential construction. It is combined with other buildings housing the seigneurial dwelling as well as a ceremonial room where justice was administered.

This Tower was erected at the request of the Abbey of Montmajour, Pierre de Canillac, between 1348 and 1353. It is both a defensive and residential construction; although the tower was an important symbol of power and military strength in those times of war (the 14th and 15th centuries were punctuated with a series of conflicts, better known as the Hundred Years' War). It was combined with other constructions which housed the seigniorial residence and a ceremonial room where justice was administered.
The adjoining buildings probably date from the 13th century, but were extended and fortified during the second half of the 14th century. They underwent minor modifications in the 15th and 16th centuries (modifications to the windows, etc.).
Together with Montmajour Tower, it is one of the few examples of residential towers which can be dated to between 1350 and 1360. The crest of the Canhilac family was a greyhound, which now forms part of the coats of arms of the town of Fontvieille.
This site is also used to house temporary exhibitions, primarily by the famous painted Carl Liner.

Itinéraire
Localisation & Contacts
Avenue Frédéric Mistral
13990 Fontvieille
04 90 54 67 49

Tour des Abbés Fontvieille
Bureau d'Information Touristique Fontvieille

Tour des abbés

Site et monument historiques

Elevée sur demande de l'abbé de Montmajour, entre 1348 et 1353, c'est une construction à la fois défensive et résidentielle. Elle est combinée à d'autres constructions abritant le logis seigneurial ainsi qu'une salle d'apparat où l'on rendait la justice.

Elle aurait été élevée sur demande de l'abbé de Montmajour, Pierre de Canillac, entre 1348 et 1353. C'est une construction à la fois défensive et résidentielle : si la tour constitue un symbole de pouvoir et de puissance militaire qui a son importance en ces temps de guerre (les XIV° et XV° siècles sont en effet émaillés par une série de conflits, plus connus sous le nom de "Guerre de Cent Ans"), elle est combinée à d'autres constructions abritant le logis seigneurial ainsi qu'une salle d'apparat où l'on rendait la justice.
Les bâtiments qui lui sont accolés datent probablement du XIII°, ils sont néanmoins agrandis et fortifiés durant la seconde moitié du XIV°. Les modifications qu'ils subissent aux XV° et XVI° sont d'ordre mineur (modification des ouvertures...).
Avec la tour de Montmajour, elle fait partie des rares exemples de tours résidentielles pouvant être datées entre 1350 et 1360.Le blason de la famille de Canhilac était un lévrier, lequel figure aujourd'hui dans les armoiries de la ville de Fontvieille.

Localisation & Contacts
Avenue Frédéric Mistral
13990 Fontvieille
04 90 54 67 49