Discover the temporary exhibitions of contemporary art in the Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Pitié in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence.
According to the archives, the Notre Dame de Pitié chapel was built around 1525 with a single nave. It was extended to include two side naves between 1650 and 1670, and a porch in 1685. It was sold as national property in 1802 and then passed from hand to hand until 1919, when it was returned to the parish and then to the diocese. In 1977, the "Friends of Notre Dame de Pitié" association was formed, and work began on restoring the church. In 1985, the Mario Prassinos Association, the tenant of the premises, continued the restoration of the chapel and fitted it out for the presentation of various temporary exhibitions.